The Long Bridge is the only bridge that connects Anatolia and the Balkans on the Ergene River in Edirne and is the longest stone bridge in the world. Its former name was Ergene Bridge. The bridge gave its name to the Uzunköprü district of Edirne.


Uzunköprü was built in 1426-1443 by the Ottoman Sultan II. It was built by Murat by the chief architect of the period, Müslihiddin. In the construction of the bridge, chief architect Master Muslihiddin and Architect Mehmet worked together[1].


The bridge, which is 1,392 meters long and 6.80 meters wide, has 174 arches[1]. Some of their arches are pointed, some are round. The height and width of the bridge vary from place to place. Some of them have selyara on their feet and balconies on them. Elephant, lion and bird figures draw attention among the stone feet[2].


The bridge was built to cross the Ergene River, which was a natural obstacle in the Ottoman conquests of the Balkans. The stone bridge, which was built after the previous wooden bridges were destroyed by the waters of the river, enabled the Turkish army to continue its raids in winter. When the Long Bridge was built, a mosque and a soup kitchen were built at the head of the bridge and a district called Ergene City was built.


The bridge was last repaired in 1963. During this repair, concrete was poured on it and its historical identity was damaged. Edirne-Izmir State Highway was passing over the historical bridge. This road was transferred to the new bridge built in 2015, and heavy vehicles were prohibited from crossing the bridge.